Colin Maggs & Gerry Beale
Edition: First Edition
Condition: Mint, with dust jacket
First Pasture Price: £55.99
Status: In Stock
For many people the Camerton branch is best known as the location for the film 'The Titfield Thunderbolt', by which time the line had already closed. The story of the branch begins in the 1870s when the Bristol and North Somerset Railway was under construction. The original proposals included a branch to serve the colliery at Camerton. After the main scheme was opened to traffic, construction of a second line commenced. With a meagre passenger service, Camerton remained a picturesque terminus until 1907.
A proposal to open a new colliery at Dunkerton brought about extension of the branch to Limpley Stoke. Passenger services were withdrawn in 1915 in common with other lines, but owing to public demand was reinstated in 1923. Services were again withdrawn for the second and final time in 1925.&nsbp; With the failure of the new colliery to produce the expected traffic, the line became a railway backwater until the Titfield film crew arrived in 1952.
This book traces the origins of the line and details the Camerton branch. The extension was known as the Camerton and Limpley Stoke Railway and the story of its construction, development and decline is also related. The book includes a wealth of photographs, track plans and drawings of buildings.